The Death of Chivalry is Good for Feminism

People are always complaining that chivalry is dead.

I say the death of chivalry a good thing – for feminism.

Chivalry may seem nice but it is based on outdated gender norms where women are seen as inherently weak and helpless creatures, utterly incapable of opening a door or wading through a puddle without a gentleman first destroying his coat in it.

Sometimes when I’m entering a store I’ll hold the door open for the person behind me (although I don’t allow them to enter before me). I do this for efficiency’s sake; it takes virtually no time or effort on my part and makes someone else’s life a little bit easier. I do this regardless of that person’s gender. If the person is so far away that I would have to stand there holding the door open for an unnaturally long time, then I don’t do it, because that would be inefficient. It would require me to wait when the person is perfectly capable of opening the door on their own. If the person is a man, there’s no hard feelings. In fact, it would be almost weird for me to stand there holding the door open for him. But if the person is a woman, I feel the pressure of centuries of patriarchy, a little voice urging me to be a “gentleman.”

And I tell that voice to shut the fuck up, because this woman is perfectly capable of opening a door.

Leave a Reply

